Wednesday 6 October 2010

No new homework today!

(Spelling Quiz (Lesson 3) on Friday though!)

 

Reminder:

We now have a P.A.C. communications parent volunteer! If you would like regular updates sent to you from the P.A.C. via email you must respond in this way:

Please send an email to me at pclarke@nvsd44.bc.ca from the email address you’d like PAC information sent to, and include Div 4 Comm in the subject line. This way I can collect all the email addresses without having to type them out manually. If you are in contact with other parents from our class, please pass along the need for them to read this and respond. Thank you to those 9 parents who have already sent me their contact email!

 

I saw many planners today signed by parents. Thank you if you were able to do this! More than one child reported their parent couldn’t or wouldn’t sign the planner… if this is true, this puts the child in an impossible position. Please follow through by signing the planner every night, so I know that you know.

I also received several notes from parents addressed to me in the planners. Thank you! Most of those notes were about upcoming absences, or current problems with the homework. In this case the homework question bears examining a bit. Because as adults we weren’t taught this kind of math when we were children, you may be of very limited use to your child in helping with homework. That is just a fact of life, and will only increase as your child gets older, especially in high school. For now, however, a quick note in the planner to say “We tried, and couldn’t work out how to do it” is more than sufficient.

Just so you know, I asked those Grade 4 students who needed help to meet with me at dismissal, and in about 4 minutes we were done. It is just not worth the time at home to struggle unsuccessfully and maybe add stress to a parent/child relationship… instead, I would see your role as one of knowing when “enough is enough”. When this happens, just jot a quick note to that effect in the planner, and leave it for me to deal with the next day. That is my job, and I’m good at it! What can take you 10 or 15 minutes and ends up in frustration, can often be solved in a few moments by me, so the child’s learning can continue. The note is a crucial element though, as I’m sure you can understand. Children who come to school without that note, and report they “couldn’t get the homework done” won’t be believed as readily as those who come armed with a note.

